top of page

The Start of an Endless Runner

I have been assigned the task of creating an endless runner using Blueprints in the Unreal Editor. An endless runner is a type of game in which you must run and dodge obstacles without slowing. The aim of an endless runner is typically to get a high score, and to collect pickups as you go (which can influence the score).

To get the structure of the endless runner, which is to be modified later, I am supposed to follow this tutorial. Following the tutorial is fairly simple, however I struggle to learn new ideas from simply copying what I see. I need to understand what everything does so that I know how the concepts can be utilized in future projects. I don’t think that simply copying will get me very far.

The player falls off the edge of the platform.

After copying to the end of the second video, the player would always run forwards and would control as was expected, however only a single floor tile that I placed would spawn, causing the player to simply run off the edge and fall until I ended the game. With my currently limited understanding of everything this was difficult to troubleshoot, especially since everything worked in the video.

Since I was having trouble progressing any further than this, I decided to deviate from the videos, referring to them when I needed to in order to make my own idea.

My plan was to be a first person endless ‘flyer’, which is not controlled by gravity and moves forwards through a 3×3 grid, using wasd to navigate the grid, and arrows to turn corners. Obstacles could block up to 8 places of the grid. There would ultimately be 3 powerups. One that blocks the next obstacle you hit, one that draws the collectibles to you, and one that slows the speed down a bit. The hallway would be made of glass, and can turn to the right, left, upwards, and downwards.

My attempt at custom player controls.

To make this, I decided that I would need to make my own controllable player, which would just be a camera with a box collider on the front of it. I used the third person blueprint and the tutorial video as a reference to make the player move forwards. I spent a couple of hours trying to work this out and trying different things (my final attempt pictured above), but didn’t get very far. I did however manage to make the camera and box collider, and make the camera what was used when the game started.

Hopefully I can get some help with sorting out these issues before I fall too far behind.

bottom of page