top of page

Runner Modifications

To make my endless runner more unique, I decided to add some more tiles and make the coins more appealing. I also fixed all of the previous bugs, except for the sound not working after collecting a set number of coins. These will be the last major changes that I make before adding menus, powerups, and any other desirables that must be met to meet the criteria. It is due on the 22nd of July and I currently have one class left. I believe that if I dedicate a lot of time to this project in this coming week, I will be able to complete it to a standard which I will be happy with.

There were three floor tiles which I added. One required the player to jump up to the next platform, or else run into the small wall and die. Arrows were on either side, pointing upwards, indicating that the player should jump. The other two tiles were hallways with a rotating cylinder inside. Players must run across the cylinder, but strafe so that the rotation does not push them off the side. An arrow is above the cylinder indicating the direction in which the player should strafe.

After some classmates playtested my game, I found that the arrows were not bright enough to always be clearly seen. To fix this, I made a spotlight shine directly on them all, and removed the skybox. This made the background entirely black, causing the golden arrows to be well visible due to the contrast.

Since my currency would change colour based on its position, a common question from playtesters was "What is the difference between the different colours?". Since this caused a lot of people to question something intended to be purely aesthetic, I changed the colours so that they would change over time again instead. Since the previous way I made the colours change wasn't appealing, I updated the function. I did this by investigating how the RGB colour values would change if I dragged the cursor around the outside (most vivid) colours in the colour wheel. I needed to do this since it wasn't possible to just change the hue of the light. This made the coins much more appealing and eliminated all confusion.

I decided to make coins spawn in lines, so that it is theoretically possible to collect all coins that the player passes. I did this by making the first coin spawn in a random position along a perpendicular line on a tile, and spawning one in front of the previous through a for loop. I also made the rotation change between each coin spawned which gives a cool effect.

All that is left now is the menus, a high score system, and powerups.

bottom of page