top of page

Procedural Generation of an ASCII level


A procedurally generated level.

I have been making good progress with my ASCII game, and have implemented much of what I have intended to.

Upon playing, a level will be procedurally generated, such as shown above.

Currently you control the "^" symbol. It can be moved with WASD and cannot move through walls.

The player can rotate with the number keys in the numpad, which changes the player's symbol to reflect their direction. (^, >, v, <)

To proceed to the next level, the player must reach the exit (■) after collecting the key (£). This generates a new level once the player reaches it.

Colours change depending on health. Cyan means 3 health, yellow means 2 health, and red means 1 health.

Enemies (!) do not yet have any functionality.

Another level for comparison.

The next thing which I will work on is to make the enemies a class, which means that they can all be controlled in one place, and treated as unique instances of the exact same thing. For those unfamiliar with this concept, it is known as object oriented programming, which you might find to be an interesting concept. It is fundamental to the creation of video games.

I will need to make the enemies move, and allow the enemies to damage the player, as well as allow the player to shoot and damage the enemies.

The next thing which I will focus on is a game over screen once the character is killed, which shows the levels completed, the enemies killed, and the score (the sum of both). It will prompt the player to press a key to play again or to exit the game.

I might incorporate a high score into it as well, if I complete all of my other projects early.

bottom of page