top of page

Galactic Soccer Template


Over the past week, I have been focusing on getting a functional template of my vehicular soccer game completed (which I have decided to call Galactic Soccer). What this means is that I aimed to get as much of the game working in a functional way with most of the mechanics implemented. Gameplay, sound effects, and things such as more appealing textures and models are not yet implemented.

So far I have implemented a playable character for each team, the general physics (including bouncy ships and balls), the goals (which will reset the ball), and a point system. All that I have not yet done for the functional template is the characters which will appear when a planet gets close enough to a black hole and award points as they are sucked in. Completing is will be my next strong focus.

The purpose of starting with a functional prototype is to ensure that the game is playable and works, which is the most important thing with most games. The next step is to tweak things so that it plays nicer and feels better and perhaps has slightly better mechanics. Once this is done, the final step is to make it as audibly and visibly appealing as possible in the remaining time. Since everything is already functional and feels good, time can then be completely devoted towards making the game more appealing.

By the end of next week, I plan to have the gameplay polished and have all features implemented, so that I will ideally have at least the final week to focus solely on making everything more presentable.

bottom of page